SATURDAY GALA: IN THE BEGINNING

8:00PM SATURDAY 12 OCTOBER 2019 SOUTHCOMBE PARK STADIUM

SHAUNTAI BATZKE Soprano LOUISE KEAST Soprano ALEXANDRA FLOOD Soprano LIANE KEEGAN Contralto JAMES EGGLESTONE Tenor DAVID PARKIN Bass RICHARD MILLS Conductor

CHOIR OF PORT FAIRY CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL CHOIR OF ST PATRICK'S PARISH PRIMARY SCHOOL PORT FAIRY MEMBERS OF DHUNGALA CHILDREN'S CHOIR THE CONSORT OF MELBOURNE VOX PLEXUS MEMBERS OF WARRNAMBOOL ORGAN FESTIVAL CHORUS PORT FAIRY SPRING MUSIC FESTIVAL ORCHESTRA PORT FAIRY SPRING MUSIC FESTIVAL CHORUS

ORFF *O Fortuna* (from *Carmina Burana*) CASSOMENOS *In the Beginning* BEETHOVEN *Finale: Ode to Joy* (from Symphony No 9)

Opening with Carl Orff's dramatic setting of the 13th Century poem *O Fortuna*, and closing with Beethoven's universally anthemic *Ode to Joy* finale from his *Symphony No 9*, this gala event brings together musicians from all over the South West region, alongside Melbourne musicians, magnificent soloists and esteemed conductor Richard Mills, on one enormous shared stage. Centrally featured is the world premiere of new work *In the Beginning*, a setting of text collaboratively created by children from Port Fairy Consolidated School and St Patrick's Parish Primary School Port Fairy, and members of the Dhungala Children's Choir, in conjunction with Stefan Cassomenos as the work's composer and musical facilitator. The theme of the text centres around the question of how everything came into being, and draws its answers from all of the world's continents, sung in many of the world's languages, in a celebration of both the diversity and commonality within the spectrum of cultural responses to universal questions.

PORT FAIRY SPRING MUSIC FESTIVAL

PORT FAIRY SPRING MUSIC FESTIVAL ORCHESTRA

Violin 1

Monica Curro^{*} (Concertmaster) Richard Keuneman John Noble Jarrod Champness Matthew Lim Nick Hoskyns Katharina Bodisco Katie Ezzy

Violin 2

Jenny Khafagi* Wendy Galloway Susan Davidson Anna Davidson Edwina Sekine Tristan Forster Nick Thies

Viola

Jason Bunn* Phillip Antippa Andrew Branchflower Millie Davidson Alex King

Cello

Michael Dahlenburg* Fiona Pugh Barbara Manovel Clara Schutz

Double Bass Emma Sullivan* Geoff Kilminster

Piano Stefan Cassomenos*

Timpani Erica Rasmussen*

Percussion Greg Sully* Sharon Gore Flute Caroline Berlin* Airlie Tait Jessica Thompson

Oboe

Emmanuel Cassimatis* Laura Thompson

Clarinet

Frank Celata* Erin Toulmin Luci Ferrier

Bassoon

Hugh Ponnuthurai* Christian Biscombe Barney Ellis

Horn

Carla Blackwood* Kristyn Cram Andrew Philpot Dean Mulholland

Trumpet

Geoff Payne* Julie Payne Lindsay Stow

Trombone

Robert Collins* James Philpot

Bass Trombone

Charles MacInnes*

*denotes principal

Players from Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Orchestra Victoria, Melbourne Chamber Orchestra, Corpus Medicorum, Geelong Symphony Orchestra, Hamilton Symphony Orchestra, Warrnambool Symphony Orchestra

PORT FAIRY SPRING MUSIC FESTIVAL CHORUS

ADULT CHORUS

Fran Agar Bev Ainger Evelyn Arnold Jenny Baptiste Judy Barton Sonia Beal Lynda Beekhof Kristy Biber Rachel Boak Barbara Borgas Marg Broers Llyn Brown Spencer Chapman Chris Cussen Jim Davidson

CHILDREN'S CHORUS

Minjarra Atkinson Stefan Botha Ella Campbell Maggie Carmichael Tilly Chisholm Charlotte Condon Isabella Condon Sarah Condon Kitty Curtain Jaymee Drever Charlotte Dumesny Kirsten Fuller-Jackson Jenny George Allegra Giagiu Jeanette Hajncl Glennistair Hancock Steven Hodgson Roz Holbrook Peter Johnson Louise Keast Pam King Celia Luke John MacInnes Timothy Matthews Staindl Madlaina Meister Anthea Morrison

Chloe Dumesny Cooper Dumesny Ella Fitzpatrick Cassie Hartwick Eliza Hocking Nina Hoey Gracie Hough Kyeisha Huntly Hugo Jarrold Kiarah Judd Lexi Lee Katherine Norman Ben Owen Robin Parkin Hannah Pietsch Elizabeth Pinson Sian Pretty Anthony Rees Timothy Reynolds Sue Robertson Philip Shaw Jamie Tait Peter Tregear Elizabeth Veale Paul Venzo Keryn Wilson

Gwen Marshall Hannah McCrohan Ngara McEwen Dylan Mills Claire Moutsos Alexa-Jade Parnell Tessa Phillips Grace Pollock Aarahi Schuler Singh Kimiora Schuler Singh

CHORAL DIRECTION TEAM

Children's Chorus Co-ordinator Port Fairy Consolidated School St Patrick's Parish Primary School Port Fairy Dhungala Children's Choir Warrnambool Organ Festival Chorus The Consort of Melbourne Dermot Tutty Lynda Beekhof Antonia Balmer Jessica Hitchcock Louise Keast Steven Hodgson

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

We acknowledge the generous assistance of our donors, sponsors, and individual supporters.

Warrnambool Symphony Orchestra **Hamilton Symphony Orchestra Ballarat Grammar School Geelong Symphony Orchestra Corpus Medicorum** Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School Port Fairy Consolidated School St Patrick's Parish Primary School Port Fairy **Dermot Tutty** Lynda Beekhof Antonia Balmer Jessica Hitchcock Louise Keast **Steven Hodgson Rodney Reynolds Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Short Black Opera Deborah Cheetham Toni Lalich Michael Aquilina** AGL **Clare Wilkes** Hannah Coffey Victorian Opera Kawai Australia Warrick Baker Brauer College, Warrnambool Hannah O'Neill-Smart **Kings College, Warrnambool Andrew Philpot** Fiona Pugh **Ben Sinah** John Noble John MacInnes **James Tait Angus Christie Bron Sozanski** Lloyd Van't Hoff **Conrad Nilsson**